1. Home
  2.  | 
  4.  | 
  5. The Polity  | 

Presidential Elections in India 2012 : Results

The 14th indirect presidential election, in order to elect the 13th president, was held in India on 19 July 2012.
Jul 24, 2012 11:07 IST
    • The election's Returning Officer V. K. Agnihotri announced: "I declare that Shri Pranab Mukherjee has been duly elected to the office of President of India."


    • Mukheree gained 373,116 MP votes and 340,647 MLA votes for a total of 713,763 votes to win the election. 


    • He defeated Sangma, who got 145,848 MP votes and 170,139 MLA votes for a total of 315,987 votes.


    • Mukherjee's win was aided by cross-voting. He will take the oath of office on 25 July at 11:00 in the Central Hall of the parliament building.


    • Amongst the dignatries in attendance will be Mamata Banerjee.


      Register to get FREE updates

        All Fields Mandatory
      • (Ex:9123456789)
      • Please Select Your Interest
      • Please specify

      • ajax-loader
      • A verifcation code has been sent to
        your mobile number

        Please enter the verification code below