Jagran Josh Logo


15-DEC-2010 13:12

Governor:Margaret Alva
 Chief Minister:Ramesh Pokhrival
 Capital: Dehradun (Provisional)
 Legislature: Unicameral
 Lok Sabha seats: 5
 Judicature: Nainital High Court
 Languages: Hindi, Garhwali, Kumaoni
 Population density: 159/sq km
 No. of districts: 13
 Rivers: Ganga, Yamuna and Sharada
 Minerals: Limestone, rock, phosphate, dolomite, magnesite, copper,
graphite, soap stone, gypsum etc.
 Industries: Forest based-small scale industries
 Airports: Jolly Grant (Dehradun), Pantnagar (Udham Singh Nagar),
and Nani-Seni (Pithoragarh), Airstrips at Gauchar (Chamoli) and
Chinyalisaur (Uttarkashi)

Uttarakhand is located in the foothills of the Himalayas. The region is mostly mountainous with a major portion covered with forests. Based on topographic characteristics, specific availability of land resources for urban development and economic mobility, Uttarakhand can be segregated into three broad categories, 1. The high mountain region (these would include significant portions of Uttarkashi, Champawat, Pithoragarh, Chamoli and Rudra-prayag districts), 2. The mid-mountain region (major parts of Pauri Garhwal, Tehri, Almora, Bageshwar districts). 3. The Doon, Terai region and Hardwar (lower foothills and plains of Dehradun, Nainital, Udhamsingh Nagar and Hardwar districts). The significant peaks of the Great Himalayan range in the state are Nanda Devi, Panchachuli, Kedarnath, Chaukhamba, Badrinath, Trishul, Bandarpunch and Kamet. Pindari, Gangotri, Milam and Khatling are the important glaciers.

Uttarakhand has been mentioned in the ancient Hindu scriptures as Kedarkhand, Manaskhand and Himavant. The Kushanas, Kunindas, Kanishka, Samudra Gupta, the Pauravas, Katuris, Palas, the Chandras and Pawaras and the British have ruled it in turns. It is often called the Land of the Gods (Dev Bhoomi) because of its various holy places and abundant shrines. The hilly regions of Uttarakhand offer unspoilt landscapes to the tourist-pilgrim.


 1902 – Uttranchal came into existence.

 1935 – Renamed United Province

 1950 – Renamed as Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand remained a part of Uttar Pradesh

 9 November 2000 – became the 27th State of India

Read more:
Post Comment
20 Comment

yogesh joshi,

i will want know uttarakhand current affairs.

Nandan Singh salal,

I want to Know about to Himalaya General Knowledge Please tall me

Arjun singh verma,

Plese sir give me a more information in U.K.

Sangeeta Rawat,

plz sir give me more information about uttarakand in detail....


plz update GK of Uttarakhand

gopal datt chabdal,

good knoldge

diwan singh chauhan,

this is nice...plz sir give mw more information about uttarakand in detail....

harish mehra,

state bird of uk?


i am preparing for samiksha adhikari for uttrakhand please give me the suggestion for better book


please current gk uttrakhand



Bhashkar joshi,

Chief Minister:Ramesh Pokhrival update it now..


hey anybody knows ....how many sugar mills in uttarakhand 2012?

satyendra kumar sirkhal,

my hardwork is my identyty


Plz update one time in a month


plz update the current news related to uttarakhand


Please keep the updated information

ramesh joshi,

my exam will held on 11 dec..for the post of gram panchayat adhikari..so plz send the note's about this exam on my e-mail id-rajanjoshi101@gmail.com


Please update this information............................ Chief Minister : Maj. Gen. Bhuwan Chandra Khanduri


plz send me more gernal G.K question over uttrakhand

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • By clicking on Submit button, you agree to our terms of use
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

Newsletter Signup
Follow us on