Andhra Pradesh Government reconstituted the Commission for Backward Classes

Jan 20, 2016 13:04 IST

Andhra Pradesh Government on 18 January 2016 reconstituted the Commission for Backward Classes with immediate effect.

AP Commission for Backward Classes (APCBC) will be a two member commission with Justice KL Manjunath, (Retd.) as its chairman and Member Secretary, APCBC as the other member.

The Chairman of APCBC shall hold office for a term of three years from the date of assumption of office.

The Commission was not constituted since, 24 September 2011, when the previous commission term expired.

About Andhra Pradesh Commission for Backward Classes (APCBC)

In compliance with the directions of the Supreme Court in Mandal Case (Indra Sawhney Vs Union of India 1992) to set up permanent B.C. Commissions, the Andhra Pradesh Commission for Backward Classes was constituted under the A.P. Commission for Backward Classes Act, 1993 and started functioning from 31 March 1994.

The body of the Commission consists of the following Members nominated by the State Government.

• A chairperson who is or has been a Judge of High Court or a retired Judge of the Supreme Court

• A Social Scientist

• Two persons who have special knowledge matters relating to backward classes; and

• A Member Secretary who shall be an officer of the government in the rank of Secretary to the Government.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1 Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes9 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK