1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Andy Murray won the men’s singles of Aegon Tennis Championships at the Queen’s Club

Jun 22, 2015 10:37 IST

Andy MurrayBritain’s Andy Murray on 21 June 2015 won the men’s singles of the Aegon Championships at the Queen’s Club in West Kensington, England. In the final clash, Murray defeated South African Kevin Anderson 6-3, 6-4.

This was his fourth Queen’s title and the previous were won in alternate years, that is, 2009, 2011 and 2013.

With this win, Murray joined an illustrious list of champions including John McEnroe, Lleyton Hewitt, Boris Becker and Andy Roddick, the winners of four Queen's Club Championships.

Most Queen's titles
John McEnroe: 1979, 1980, 1981 and 1984
Boris Becker: 1985, 1987, 1988 and 1996
Lleyton Hewitt: 2000, 2001, 2002 and 2006
Andy Roddick:  2003, 2004, 2005 and 2007
Andy Murray: 2009, 2011, 2013 and 2015

Besides, the French duo Pierre-Hugues Herbert and Nicolas Mahut won the Aegon Championships men's doubles title at The Queen's Club. They defeated Marcin Matkowski of Poland & Serbia's Nenad Zimonjic 6-2, 6-2.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes7 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Aegon Championships , Queen’s Club , Andy Murray , Kevin Anderson

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK