Ballon d'Or Winner 2021: Lionel Messi wins record 7th award, Alexia Putellas wins first- Check Full List of Winners

Ballon dOr winner: This year, two new Ballon d’Or awards were also introduced- 'The Striker of the Year' & 'The Club of the Year'. Check full list of Ballon dOr winners here. 

Ballon dOr winners 2021
Ballon dOr winners 2021

Ballon dOr winners list: Lionel Messi won the men’s Ballon d’Or award for a record seventh time on November 30, 2021. Spain's Alexia Putellas won the women’s Ballon d’Or award for the first time.

The 34-year-old Messi, who had led Argentina to the Copa America title in July 2021,  won the award over another award favourite Bayern Munich striker, Robert Lewandowski, who was predicted to win the prize last year after a sensational season. Luis Alberto Suárez Díaz gave the Ballon d’Or to Messi.

This year, two new Ballon d’Or awards were also introduced- 'The Striker of the Year' & 'The Club of the Year'.  While the striker of the year award went to Robert Lewandowski, the Best Club of the Year award went to Chelsea.

The Kopa trophy for best young player under the age of 21 years went to Barcelona’s Pedri. The Yashin Trophy for best goalkeeper went Italian goalkeeper Gianluigi Donnarumma.

Ballon d'Or Award

The Ballon d'Or is one of the oldest and most prestigious individual awards in football that is presented annually by the French news magazine France Football. The prize has been awarded every year since 1956. Between 2010 and 2015, the award was temporarily merged with the FIFA World Player of the Year after an agreement with FIFA and was known as FIFA Ballon d'Or. 

The award reverted to Ballon d'Or in 2016 and FIFA also went back to its own separate award. The recipients of FIFA Ballon d'Or are considered as winners of both awards. 

Which player has won the Ballon d’Or award most number times?

Lionel Messi has now won the Ballon d’Or award a record seven times, six while he was playing for Barcelona and first time while playing for Paris Saint-Germain. Cristiano Ronaldo follows closely with five Ballon d’Or awards, one while he was playing for Manchester United and four with Real Madrid. 

Besides them, three footballers have won the award three times each- Michel Platini of Juventus, Johan Cruyff of Barcelona and Ajax and Marco van Basten of Milan. Two Spanish football clubs, Barcelona and Real Madrid lead the ranking for employing the most number of Ballon d’Or award winners, with 12 and 11 wins respectively. 

List of Ballon dOr winners since 2005


Ballon dOr Winner 


2005 Ronaldinho   Barcelona
2006  Fabio Cannavaro   Real Madrid
2007  Kaká   Milan
2008  Cristiano Ronaldo   Manchester United
2009  Lionel Messi   Barcelona
2010  Lionel Messi  Barcelona
2011  Lionel Messi  Barcelona
2012  Lionel Messi  Barcelona
2013  Cristiano Ronaldo  Real Madrid
2014  Cristiano Ronaldo  Real Madrid
2015  Lionel Messi  Barcelona
2016  Cristiano Ronaldo   Real Madrid
2017  Cristiano Ronaldo   Real Madrid
2018  Luka Modrić  Real Madrid
2019  Lionel Messi   Barcelona
2020 Cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic
2021  Lionel Messi  Paris Saint-Germain

Top 10 Players with most Ballon d’Or awards




Lionel Messi Argentina 7 (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019, 2021)
Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal  5 (2008, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017)
 Michel Platini France 3 (1983, 1984, 1985)
 Johan Cruyff The Netherlands 3 (1971, 1973, 1974)
 Marco van Basten The Netherlands 3 (1988, 1989, 1992)
 Franz Beckenbauer Germany 2 (1972, 1976)
 Ronaldo Brazil 2 (1997, 2002)
 Alfredo Di Stéfano Spain 2 (1957, 1959)
 Kevin Keegan England 2 (1978, 1979)
 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge France 2 (1980, 1981)


Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Read the latest Current Affairs updates and download the Monthly Current Affairs PDF for UPSC, SSC, Banking and all Govt & State level Competitive exams here.
Jagran Play
खेलें हर किस्म के रोमांच से भरपूर गेम्स सिर्फ़ जागरण प्ले पर
Jagran PlayJagran PlayJagran PlayJagran Play

Monthly Current Affairs PDF

  • Current Affairs PDF April 2023
  • Current Affairs PDF March 2023
  • Current Affairs PDF February 2023
  • Current Affairs PDF January 2023
  • Current Affairs PDF December 2022
  • Current Affairs PDF November 2022
View all

Monthly Current Affairs Quiz PDF

  • Current Affairs Quiz PDF April 2023
  • Current Affairs Quiz PDF March 2023
  • Current Affairs Quiz PDF February 2023
  • Current Affairs Quiz PDF January 2023
  • Current Affairs Quiz PDF December 2022
  • Current Affairs Quiz PDF November 2022
View all