BJP won the 2017 Assembly Elections of Uttar Pradesh

Mar 11, 2017 16:45 IST


BJP wins the Asselmbly Election of Uttar Pradesh Election Commission of India on 11 March 2017 announced the results of the 2017 Assembly elections of Uttar Pradesh. The elections were held in 7 phases between 7 February and 8 March 2017 for 403 assembly seats.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which fought the state election without declaring its Chief Ministerial candidate, is all set for a three-fourth majority in Uttar Pradesh. To win the state, the party was successful by winning 325 seats, which also makes it the largest party in the state.


BJP wins the Asselmbly Election of Uttar Pradesh

On the other hand, the ruling Samajwadi Party (SP) led by Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav was voted out of the power in the state. The party that fought the elections in alliance with India’s oldest Party, Indian National Congress (INC), after seeing a month long family feud was decimated to 54 seats.

BJP wins Election in Uttarakhand

Besides, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) led by Mayawati that ruled the state under her for five times was able to win 19 seats. Mayawati ruled the states from 3 June 1995 to 18 October 1995 (for five months), 21 March 1997 to 21 September 1997 (for 6 months), 3 May 2002 to 29 August 2003 and 13 May 2007 to 7 March 2012.

Uttar Pradesh Results 2017 – Party wise Seats











Uttar Pradesh Assembly Election Results

Election in Alapur Assembly constituency in Ambedkar Nagar of Uttar Pradesh was postponed due to the death of a Samajwadi Party candidate. Polling was held on 9 March 2017.

Congress won the 2017 Assembly Elections of Punjab

Is this article important for exams ? Yes4 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK