CCEA approved creation of Intra State Transmission System in 7 States

Jul 17, 2015 13:13 IST

The Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs (CCEA) on 16 July 2015 approved the creation of an intra state transmission system in seven states of the country. The seven states include Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra and Rajasthan.

The system will be created at an estimated cost of 8548 crore rupees of which 3419 crore rupees (40 percent of the total coast) will be contributed by National Clean Energy Fund (NCEF). The remaining cost will be met through KfW (German Development Bank) loan (40 percent of the total cost) and remaining 20 percent as State contribution.

The decision was taken during a CCEA meet chaired by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi in New Delhi. The project is proposed to be completed within a period of three to five years.

Activities envisaged under the project includes establishment of 48 new Grid sub-stations of different voltage levels with total transformation capacity around 17100 MVA (Mega Volt Ampere) by installing over 7800 ckt-kms (Circuit Kilometers) of transmission lines in these seven states.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes13 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK