Government abolished all GoMs & EGoMs for greater accountability and empowerment

Jun 2, 2014 12:12 IST

Narendra Modi, the Prime Minister of India on 31 may 2014 abolished existing nine Empowered Group of Ministers (EGoMs) and 21 Groups of Ministers (GoMs).

With the abolition of all GoMs and EGoMs now all the decisions related to critical policy matters will be taken up by the Ministries and Departments. This will help in infusing greater accountability and transparency.

In case of Ministries facing any difficulty they will be assisted by the Cabinet Secretariat and the Prime Minister’s office in decision making process.

Earlier during the UPA government led by Manmohan Singh, the GoMs and EGoMs were a preferred route to decide on critical policies which led to delays in decision-making due to inter-ministerial tug-of-war

During the UPA-II tenure, there were 78 GoMs and 16 EGoMs, which was higher than of UPA-I period.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes189 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK