1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Karnataka clinched eighth Ranji title of cricket

Mar 13, 2015 09:09 IST

Defending champions Karnataka on 12 March 2015 won their eighth Ranji Trophy title of cricket. In the title clash played at the Wankhede stadium in Mumbai, Karnataka defeated Tamil Nadu by an innings and 217 runs.

Tamil Nadu was bundled out for 134 in the first innings. Karnataka then scored 762 runs. Chasing an imposing 628, Tamil Nadu was shot out for 411 in the final session of the fifth day's play.

Karnataka’s middle-order batsman Karun Nair scored 338 runs to help the team in scoring a winning target. While leg-spinner Shreyas Gopal of Karnataka who bagged four wickets for 26 wrecked the batting order of Tamil Nadu.
Skipper of Karnataka R Vinay Kumar, who became the joint leading wicket taker this season, ended with two wickets, along with Sreenath Aravind.
Karnataka Ranji team was captained by R Vinay Kumar, while the Tamil Nadu team was captained by Abhinav Mukund.

Man-of the-match - Karun Nair for his maiden triple century in first-class cricket


Is this article important for exams ? Yes39 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Karnataka , Tamil Nadu , Ranji Trophy , Wankhede stadium , Mumbai ,

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK