1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Kolkata Knight Riders defeated Kings XI Punjab to win IPL 2014 for second time

Jun 2, 2014 09:09 IST

Kolkata Knight RidersThe Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) on 1 June 2014 won the seventh edition of Indian Premier League 2014 by defeating Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) by three wickets in the final played at Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore. This is the second title triumph for KKR after their maiden win back in 2012.

Batting first Wriddhiman Saha century in 49 balls helped KXIP to set a mammoth score of 199 run to be chased by KKR. Batting second as chasers, KKR’s Manish Pandey fuelled a match-winning 94 off 50 balls.

With this win, Kolkata Knight Riders that choose to field first after winning the toss has now joined Chennai Super Kings, as a team that has claimed two IPL trophies. Earlier, KKR defeated Chennai Super Kings in the final match in 2012.

Man of the Match: Manish Pandey
Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena, Bruce Oxenford, S Ravi, CK Nandan
Referee: Roshan Mahanama

Captains of the two teams

Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir
Kings XI Punjab: George Bailey

The previous winners of the IPL are as follows
IPL Season 1: Rajasthan Royals
IPL Season 2: Deccan Chargers
IPL Season 3: Chennai Super Kings
IPL Season 4: Chennai Super Kings
IPL Season 5: Kolkata Knight Riders
IPL Season 6: Mumbai Indians

Is this article important for exams ? Yes173 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK