Lal Thanhawla sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Mizoram for second successive term

Lal Thanhawla has sworn in as Chief Minister of Mizoram. Governor of Mizoram, administered the oath of office and secrecy to Lal Thanhawla

Created On: Dec 14, 2013 14:00 ISTModified On: Dec 17, 2013 16:35 IST

Lal Thanhawla of Congress party has sworn in as the Chief Minister of Mizoram for the second successive term on 14 December 2013. Governor of Mizoram, Vakkom B. Purushothaman administered the oath of office and secrecy to Lal Thanhawla and his Cabinet colleagues at Raj Bhavan in Aizawl.

The first session of the seventh Mizoram Assembly will commence on 16 December 2013. Lal Thanhawla was formally elected as its leader by Congress Legislature Party on 11 December 2013.

The result of the Mizoram Assembly polls, held on 25 November 2013 was declared on 9 December 2013. In the elections, Congress swept 34 seats of the 40 seats and the main opposition parties, Mizo National Front (MNF) was able to secure only five seats and Mizoram People's Conference (MPC) secured only one berth.

• This will be the fifth term of Lal Thanhawal as the Chief Minister of Manipur. For the first time, Thanhawal became the Chief Minister in 1984 after Congress Party led by him swept the poll by defeating the ruling People’s Conference Party, which was led by Thenpjunga Sailo, the then Chief Minister.
• In 1986, he vacated the seat of the Chief Minister for Laldenga the leader of Mizo National Front (MNF) during the MNF-Congress coalition government was formed.
• In 1989, Thanhawla returned to power by toppling the MNF Government.
• In 1993, Congress retained power by forging alliance with Mizoram Janata Dal (MJD) of Thenpjunga Sailo. Thanhawala continued to be the Chief Minister in the coalition government.
• In 1998, congress lost the election and returned to power in 2008 after 10 years. Thanhawla became the Chief Ministerfor the fourth time in 2008 and for the fifth time in 2013.
An official notification issued says that the newly-elected legislators, who won the election to the 40-member state legislature held on 25 November, would be sworn-in by the Protem Speaker. The state Governor, Vakkom Purushothaman would deliver his customary address to the state assembly on 17 December 2013, which would be deliberated on 17 December 2013 after a motion of thanks will be moved by a member of the ruling Congress.

Congress won the Mizoram Assembly Election by two-third majority

"If you have any Question/Point on the above information, please ask/discuss it in the Current Affairs Group"

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

7 + 9 =