Legendary filmmaker Kasinathuni Viswanath wins Dadasaheb Phalke Award 2016

As a presenter of classical and traditional art, music and dance, K Viswanath has been a guiding force in the Indian film industry.

Created On: Apr 25, 2017 15:55 ISTModified On: Apr 25, 2017 15:55 IST

Dadasaheb Phalke Award 2016Renowned filmmaker and actor Kasinathuni Viswanath on 24 April 2017 won the Dadasaheb Phalke Award for the year 2016. The award will be presented to him by President Pranab Mukherjee on 3 May 2017 at Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi.

With this, Viswanath became the 48th recipient of the Dadasaheb Phalke Award, the highest recognition in Indian cinema. As a presenter of classical and traditional art, music and dance, K Viswanath has been a guiding force in the Indian film industry.

CA eBook

About Kasinathuni Viswanath

• Kasinathuni Viswanath was born in February 1930 at Gudivada in Andhra Pradesh.
• Starting his career as a sound recordist with Vahini Pictures, Viswanath debuted as a director with Atma Goura-vam in 1965.
• As a director, he has made over 50 films since 1965. His films are known for their strong content, endearing narrative, honest handling and cultural authenticity.
• An ardent art lover, he made a series of films based on varied themes of art, music and dance.
• He also received recognition for his contributions to filmmaking in the form of the Padma Shri Award in 1992 by the Union Government.
• He has also been awarded with 5 National Awards, 20 Nandi Awards (awarded by the State Government of Andhra Pradesh), 10 Filmfare Awards including Lifetime Achievement Award.
• His National Award-winning film Swati Mutyam was India's official entry to the 59th Academy Awards in the Best Foreign Film category.
• One of his most memorable films, Sirivennela was a sensitive story of a blind flutist and a mute painter who fall in love with each other over the love of music and their individual setbacks.
• His another film Sankarabharanam is one of India's most memorable classics, which was appreciated across the world.

About Dadasaheb Phalke Award
• Dadasaheb Phalke Award was introduced in 1969 by the Union Government to recognise the contribution of film personalities towards the development of Indian Cinema.
• The award prize consists of a Swarn Kamal (Golden Lotus), a cash prize of Rs 10 lakh and a shawl.
• The first recipient of the award was Devika Rani who was awarded in the year 1969.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

3 + 4 =