LS Speaker accepts no-confidence motion against ruling government

Jul 19, 2018 08:22 IST
LS Speaker accepts no-confidence motion against ruling government

The Speaker of Lok Sabha, Sumitra Mahajan admitted a no-confidence motion moved by the opposition against the ruling government on July 18, 2018, on the opening day of the Monsoon session of Parliament.

The no-confidence motion against the Narendra Modi government brought by the TDP and opposition parties will be taken up for debate on July 20, 2018.

Key Highlights

The discussion will be held for the full day, followed by voting on the issue.

The Speaker announced that there will be no question hour on the day of the debate.

The House will also not have any other business on the day except for the discussion on the no-confidence motion.

During the Zero Hour, the Speaker named all the opposition members who had moved similar no-confidence motion notices and said that TDP’s Kesineni Srinivas would move his motion as his party was the first to bring up the matter.

During the Budget session, notices for a similar motion had been rejected by Mahajan, on the grounds that the House was not in order.


The opposition parties have brought in the no-confidence motion against the ruling government on issues including grant of special status to Andhra Pradesh, lynchings, atrocities against women and the dalits and the dilution of a law meant for Scheduled Caste.

Why TDP’s Kesineni Srinivas was allowed to move the motion first!

Kesineni Srinivas is a member of the Telugu Desam Party (ruling party in Andhra Pradesh), which had quit the ruling NDA coalition in March 2018 protesting against the government for not giving a special package to Andhra Pradesh.

Srinivas moved the motion during Zero Hour which was admitted by the Speaker. The speaker stated that the leave was granted to bring in the no-confidence motion, as it had the support of more than 50 LS members.

While Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge demanded that the largest party should be allowed to move the motion, the Speaker stated that as per rules, the party that raises the motion first gets to move it.


The TDP members had moved a no-confidence motion during the Budget session of Parliament as well, but it was rejected by the Speaker on the grounds that the House was not in order as there were continuous protests by different political parties over various issues.

About No-confidence motion

What is a no-confidence motion?

A motion of no confidence is a statement or vote which states that a person in a position of responsibility or authority is no longer deemed fit to hold that position due to inadequacy in some respect or failure to carry out obligations.

As a parliamentary motion, it demonstrates that the elected parliament no longer has confidence in the appointment government.

Who can move it and where?

As per Rule 198 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in Lok Sabha, a no-confidence motion can be moved by any member of the House.

The member need not give a reason for moving the no-confidence motion. However, the motion needs to have the support of more than 50 members.

It can be moved only in the Lok Sabha and not in the Rajya Sabha.

What comes next?

If the motion is accepted, then the party in power has to prove its majority in the House through a floor test.

If the government is not able to prove its majority in the House, then the government has to resign.


Read More Current Affairs

Is this article important for exams ? Yes1 Person Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK