Non-OPEC countries agree to cut oil production by 558000 barrels per day

Dec 12, 2016 12:16 IST

For the first time since 2001, non-OPEC countries on 10 December 2016 agreed to join the supply cuts in order to overcome the major obstacle for a global agreement to curb output. The decision was taken during a meeting of the Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) in Vienna.

These eleven oil-producing countries, who are not members of the OPEC oil cartel, include Azerbaijan, Oman, Mexico, Sudan, South Sudan, Bahrain, Malaysia, Equatorial Guinea, Bolivia, Kazakhstan and Russia.

CA eBook

Highlights of the Agreement

  • The non-OPEC countries agreed to reduce their oil production by 558000 barrels a day.
  • OPEC members also confirmed their commitment to reduce the oil supply by 1.2 million barrels a day.
  • Together OPEC and non-OPEC countries will cut the oil production by about 1.7-1.8 million barrels a day.
  • The agreement is designed to speed the end of the oil downturn by controlling the excess supplies and boost prices, providing some relief to resource-rich nations.
  • It will accelerate the stabilisation in the markets.
  • A committee was also constituted to monitor producers’ cuts that will start from 1 January 2017 for six months. It will consist of three OPEC members and two non-OPEC countries.

Breakdown proposed by non-OPEC countries

  • Russia to cut 300000 barrels a day
  • Mexico to cut 100000 barrels a day
  • Kazakhstan to cut 50000 barrels a day
  • Oman to cut 45000 barrels a day
  • Azerbaijan to cut 35000 barrels a day
  • Malaysia to cut 35000 barrels a day
  • Bahrain to cut 12000 barrels a day
  • Equatorial Guinea to cut 12000 barrels a day
  • South Sudan to cut 8000 barrels a day
  • Brunei to cut 7000 barrels a day
  • Bolivia to cut 4000 barrels a day
  • Sudan to cut 4000 barrels a day

About OPEC

  • Formed in 1960, OPEC coordinates the energy policies of member countries who produce about one-third of the world's oil.
  • Its members include Algeria, Angola, Ecuador, Gabon, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Libya, Nigeria, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, UAE and Venezuela.
  • A number of other major oil-producing nations such as the United States and Russia are not OPEC members.


Is this article important for exams ? Yes1 Person Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK