Padmini Rout wins National Women Premier Championship for third time

Nov 16, 2016 15:16 IST

International Chess Master Padmini Rout on 14 November 2016 won the National Women Premier Chess Championship for the third time.

Rout played out a draw with her Petroleum Sports Promotion Board (PSPB ) teammate Eesha Karavade that made her achieve the hat-trick of title wins.

S Vijayalakshmi of Air India won silver medal while Karavade grabbed the bronze.

The triumph also ensured that Rout will be a part of the Indian women team in the next World team chess championship.

The other two confirmed members of the team are Grandmasters Koneru Humpy and D Harika. The remaining two places will be decided most likely according to February 2017 rating list.

3 months Supplement CA

About Padmini Rout

Padmini Rout holds the titles of International Master and Woman Grandmaster.

In 2008, she won the World under-14 girls' championship.

She won the Indian women's championship twice (in 2014 and 2015).

She won an individual gold medal playing on the reserve board for the Indian national team at the 2014 Women's Chess Olympiad in Norway.

She was honoured with the Ekalavya Award by Odisha Government in 2009.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes3 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK