Peter Mutharika sworn-in as President of Malawi

Jun 2, 2014 17:47 IST

Peter Mutharika was sworn-in as President of Malawi on 31 May 2014.  He won the presidential election of Malawi by defeating previous President Joyce Banda. The result was announced by the Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) on 30 May 2014.

Peter Mutharika, the leader of the Democratic Progressive Party obtained 36.4percent of the vote, former preacher Lazarus Chakwera came second with 27.8 percent of the vote and Banda obtained 20.2 percent of the vote.

Banda called for the whole election to be annulled, denouncing serious irregularities and claiming the contest was null and void. The High Court rejected to block the release of the results following which Chief Election commissioner declared Mutharika as the winner.

Quick Digest

Who: Peter Mutharika

Where: Malawi

What: won the Presidential election

When: 31 May 2014

Is this article important for exams ? Yes48 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Peter Mutharika , sworn-in , President of Malawi , Joyce Banda

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK