PM Narendra Modi presents Ramnath Goenka Awards for Excellence in Journalism

Nov 3, 2016 13:15 IST

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on 2 November 2016 presented the Ramnath Goenka Awards for Excellence in Journalism at a function in New Delhi.

The honour acknowledges exceptional work across 28 categories in print, broadcast and online journalism in English, Hindi and regional languages.

Ramnath Goenka was an Indian newspaper publisher. He launched The Indian Express and created the Indian Express Group with various English and regional language publications.

3 months Supplement CA

Complete list of winners



Prakash Rakesh Kardaley Memorial Award for Civic Journalism

Christin Mathew Philip (The Times of India)

Uncovering India Invisible

Print: Ashwaq Masoodi (Mint)

Broadcast: Sarada Lahangir (Kalinga TV)


Print: Santosh Kumar (India Today)

Broadcast: Sanjay Nandan (ABP news), Syeda Afifa Khatoon (NEWS24)

Regional Languages

Print: Firos Khan M (Madhyamam Daily), Nileena Atholi (Mathrubhumi)

Broadcast: Pramod Shastri G (TV9)

Sports Journalism

Print: Devendra Pandey (The Indian Express)

Broadcast: Sanjeeb Mukherjea (CNN-IBN)

Reporting from J&K and the Northeast

Print: Esha Roy (The Indian Express) and Maddipatla Rajshekhar (

Broadcast: Shubhajit Sengupta (CNN-IBN)

Environmental reporting

Print: Pritha Chatterjee, Aniruddha Ghoshal (The Indian Express)

Broadcast: Sushil Chandra Bahuguna (NDTV India)

Business and Economic Journalism

Print: Khushboo Narayan (The Indian Express) and Rajeev Dubey (Business Today)

Broadcast: Archana Shukla (CNBC TV18)

Foreign Correspondent covering India

Print: Victor John Mallet (Financial Times)

Investigative reporting

Print: Maneesha Pandey, Sandeep Pai (Newslaundry)

Broadcast: Ganesh Suratchand Thakur (ABP news)

On-the-spot reporting

Print: Nayantara Narayan (

Broadcast: Aamir Rafiq Peerzada, Rakesh Solanky (NDTV)

Feature writing: Shamik Bag (Mint), Sreedevi TV (Malayala Manorama)

Reporting on Politics and Government

Print: Ashutosh Bhardwaj (The Indian Express)

Broadcast: Halimabi Abdul Kureshi (IBN Lokmat)

Photo Journalism

Burhan Kinu (Hindustan Times)

Commentary and interpretative writing

Anna MM Vetticad (BLink), Pramit Bhattacharya (Mint)


Author: Akshaya Mukul (Non-fiction)

Book: Gita Press & The Making of Hindu India

Publication: Harper Collins

Sanjiv Sinha Memorial Award for Excellence in Reporting

Aditi Vatsa (The Indian Express)

Priya Chandrashekar Memorial Award for Excellence in Editing

Saikat Kumar Bose (The Indian Express)

Is this article important for exams ? Yes5 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK