1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

President conferred Gallantry Awards

May 3, 2014 09:21 IST

Gallantry AwardsPranab Mukherjee, the President of India on 2 May 2014 conferred Gallantry Awards on 55 personnel for their distinguished service and bravery. The awards were presented during a ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi.

The awards included three Kirti and nine Shaurya Chakras, three Uttam Yudh Seva Medals, 13 Param Vishisht Seva Medals, four Bar to Ati Vishisht Seva and 23 Ari Vishisht Seva medals.

Uttam Yudh Seva Medals were presented for a high degree of distinguished service in an operational context that includes times of war, conflict or hostilities.

Param Vishisht Seva Medals

Param Vishisht Seva Medals Bar to Ati Vishisht Seva Medals and Ati Vishisht Seva Medals are presented upon senior officers of the armed forces for distinguished service of an exceptional order.

Two of the three Kirti Chakras were given posthumously. The three recipient of the Kriti Chakras were
• Constable Bhrigu Nandan Choudhary of 205 Cobra Battalion (posthumous)
• CRPF and Inspector Lohit Sonowal of Assam Police for valiantly gunning down terrorists (posthumous)
• Naib Subedar Bhupal Singh Chhantel Magar

List of Gallantry Awards

If you have any Question/Point on the above information, please ask/discuss it in the Current Affairs Group.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes43 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK