President Pranab Mukherjee confers Padma awards to eminent personalities

Apr 13, 2017 16:16 IST

President Pranab Mukherjee on 13 April 2017 conferred the Padma awards to 44 people. The awards were conferred at a Civil Investiture Ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan.


President of India presents Padma Awards

Padma Vibhushan was conferred on three personalities including eminent Singer Yesudas, spiritual leader Sadhguru Jaggi Vasudev were given Padma Vibhushan award.

List of awardees



Padma Vibhushan

  • Singer Yesudas
  • Spiritual leader Sadhguru Jaggi Vasudev
  • Sunder Lal Patwa, the former Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh was awarded posthumously

Padma Bhushan

  • Pandit Vishwa Mohan Bhatt
  • Dr Devi Prasad Dwivedi
  • Jainacharya Vijay Ratnasundersuri Maharaja
  • Eminent Journalist Cho Ramaswamy was given the award posthumously

Padma Shri

  • Wrestler Sakshi Malik
  • Gymnast Dipa Karmakar
  • Paralympian Mariyappan Thangavelu
  • Discus Thrower Vikas Gowda
  • Renowned chef Sanjeev Kapoor
  • Media magnet H R Shah
  • Film critic Bhawna Somiya
  • Journalist Balbir Dutt
  • Singer Kailash Kher
  • Surgeon Dr Mukut Minz

Padma Shri award was conferred on 37 personalities, find the list.

The award ceremony was held in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan and Home Minister Rajnath Singh along with other dignitaries.

Quick Digest

Who: Padma Awards

What: Conferred

When: 13 April 2017

Is this article important for exams ? Yes5 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK