President Pranab Mukherjee gave his assent to Whistleblowers Protection Bill 2011

The President of India gave his assent to the Whistleblowers Protection Bill 2011 and with his assent the Bill became a law.

Created On: May 14, 2014 15:15 ISTModified On: May 14, 2014 15:54 IST

Pranab Mukherjee, the President of India on 12 May 2014 gave his assent to the Whistleblowers Protection Bill 2011. With this assent, the Whistleblowers Bill, 2011 became Whistleblowers Protection Act, 2011. The Bill was passed by Lok Sabha on 11 December 2011 and by Rajya Sabha on 21 February 2014.

The Bill carries provisions for setting up regular mechanism to encourage persons to disclose information on corruption or willful misuse of power by public servants, which includes Ministers. The Bill also demands adequate protection to persons who reports corruption or willful misuse of discretion, which bring in a demonstrable loss to the government.

The Bill was introduced in 2004 by the Union Government to empower the Central Vigilance Commission for protecting whistle-blowers.

Union Cabinet Approved Whistleblowers Act

Whistleblower Protection Bill passed by Union Legislature

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

2 + 2 =