Rajya Sabha Elections 2022 on June 10: Nirmala Sitharaman, Piyush Goyal, Kapil Sibbal, P Chidambaram - Full List of Retiring Rajya Sabha MPs

Rajya Sabha Elections 2022: Some of the prominent Rajya Sabha MPs who are set to retire include Union ministers Nirmala Sitharaman, Piyush Goyal, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi and senior Congress leaders Kapil Sibbal and P Chidambaram and Jairam Ramesh.

Created On: May 13, 2022 12:08 IST
Rajya Sabha Elections 2022
Rajya Sabha Elections 2022

Rajya Sabha Elections 2022: The 57 Rajya Sabha seats, spread across 15 states will go polls on June 10, as per the Election Commission of India. Out of the 15 states, Uttar Pradesh has the highest share of seats that will go to polls with 11 seats falling vacant, followed by Tamil Nadu and Maharashtra, from where 6 seats each will be falling vacant. 

The biennial elections are taking place as the term of office of 57 Rajya Sabha MPs is due to expire between June and August.Some of the members who are retiring but will seek re-election include Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, Leader of the House Piyush Goyal and Deputy Leader of the House Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi.

Other prominent MPs due to retire from the Rajya Sabha include former Union Minister P Chidambaram, Kapil Sibbal, Shiv Sena's Sanjay Raut, Praful Patel and Chief whip of Congress Party Jairam Ramesh.

Read: Sri Lanka Prime Minister: Ranil Wickremesinghe returns as Prime Minister of Sri Lanka, protests continue

Rajya Sabha Election 2022 Schedule
Rajya Sabha elections 2022 schedule
Schedule Dates
Issuance of Notifications May 24
Last Date of Filing Nominations May 31
Scrutiny of Nominations  June 1
Last Date for Withdrawal of Candidature  June 3
Date of Polls  June 10 ( 9am to 4pm)
Counting of Votes June 10 ( At 5 pm)

Rajya Sabha Elections on June 10: Know state-wise seat share

A total of 57 seats will go to polls on June 10 from 15 states. Following is the state-wise seat distribution-

Andhra Pradesh - 4

Bihar - 5

Chhattisgarh- 2

Haryana- 2

Jharkhand - 2

Karnataka- 4

Madhya Pradesh - 3




Rajasthan- 4

Tamil Nadu- 6

Telangana - 2

Uttar Pradesh -11 

Uttarakhand -1 

Full List of Retiring Rajya Sabha Members 2022

Name of retiring members Party State  Date of Retirement
Suresh Prabhu  Andhra Pradesh  BJP June 21, 2022
 T.G. Venkatesh  Andhra Pradesh  BJP June 21, 2022
 Yalamanchili Satyanarayana Chowdary   Andhra Pradesh  BJP June 21, 2022
 Venumbaka Vijaya Sai Reddy  Andhra Pradesh  YSRCP June 21, 2022
 Gopal Narayan Singh  Bihar  BJP July 07, 2022
 Satish Chandra Dubey  Bihar  BJP  July 07, 2022
 Misa Bharti  Bihar   RJD July 07, 2022
 Ramchandra Prasad Singh  Bihar  JD(U) July 07, 2022
 Sharad Yadav (Vacant w.e.f 04.12.2017)  Bihar  RJD  July 07, 2022
 Chhaya Verma  Chhattisgarh  Congress June 29, 2022
 Ramvichar Netam  Chhattisgarh  BJP  June 29, 2022
 Dushyant Gautam  Haryana  BJP August 01, 2022
 Subash Chandra  Haryana  Independent August 01, 2022
 Mahesh Poddar  Jharkhand  BJP July 07, 2022
 Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi  Jharkhand  BJP  July 07, 2022
 Oscar Fernandes (Vacant w.e.f 13.09.2021 due to death)  Karnataka  Congress June 30, 2022
 Nirmala Sitharaman  Karnataka  BJP June 30, 2022
 K.C. Ramamurthy   Karnataka  BJP June 30, 2022
 Jairam Ramesh  Karnataka  Congress June 30, 2022
 Vivek Tankha  Madhya Pradesh  Congress  June 29, 2022
M J Akbar   Madhya Pradesh  BJP June 29, 2022
 Sampatiya Uikey  Madhya Pradesh  BJP June 29, 2022
 Piyush Goyal   Maharashtra  BJP  July 4, 2022
 P. Chidambaram  Maharashtra  Congress  July 4, 2022
 Praful Patel   Maharashtra  NCP July 4, 2022
 Vikas Mahatme  Maharashtra  BJP July 4, 2022
 Sanjay Raut  Maharashtra  Shiv Sena  July 4, 2022
 Vinay Sahasrabuddhe  Maharashtra  BJP  July 4, 2022
 Nekkanti Bhaskar Rao  Odisha  BJD  July 1, 2022
 Prasanna Acharya  Odisha  BJD   July 1, 2022
 Sasmit Patra  Odisha  BJD   July 1, 2022
 Ambika Soni   Punjab  Congress  July 4, 2022
 Balwinder Singh  Punjab  SAD  July 4, 2022
 Om Prakash Mathur  Rajasthan  BJP  July 4, 2022
 Alphons Kannanthanam  Rajasthan  BJP  July 4, 2022
 Ram Kumar Verma  Rajasthan  BJP  July 4, 2022
 Harshvardhan Singh Dungarpur  Rajasthan  BJP  July 4, 2022
 T.K.S. Elangovan  Tamil Nadu  DMK  June 29, 2022
 A. Navaneethakrishnan   Tamil Nadu  AIADMK  June 29, 2022
 R.S. Bharathi  Tamil Nadu  DMK  June 29, 2022
 S.R. Balasubramoniyan  Tamil Nadu  AIADMK  June 29, 2022
 A. Vijayakumar  Tamil Nadu  AIADMK  June 29, 2022
 K.R.N. Rajeshkumar  Tamil Nadu  DMK  June 29, 2022
 Lakshmikanta Rao Voditela  Telangana  TRS  June 21, 2022
 Srinivas Dharmapuri  Telangana  Congress  June 21, 2022
 Revati Raman Singh   Uttar Pradesh  SP  July 4, 2022
 Sukhram Singh  Uttar Pradesh  SP July 4, 2022
 Syed Zafar Islam  Uttar Pradesh  BJP July 4, 2022
 Vishambhar Prasad Nishad  Uttar Pradesh  SP July 4, 2022
 Kapil Sibbal  Uttar Pradesh  Congress July 4, 2022
Ashok Siddharth  Uttar Pradesh  BSP July 4, 2022
 Jai Prakash  Uttar Pradesh  BJP July 4, 2022
 Shiv Pratap  Uttar Pradesh  BJP July 4, 2022
 Satish Chandra Misra  Uttar Pradesh  BSP July 4, 2022
 Sanjay Seth   Uttar Pradesh SP July 4, 2022
 Surendra Singh Nagar    Uttar Pradesh  BJP July 4, 2022
 Pradeep Tamta  Uttarakhand  Congress July 4, 2022

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Read the latest Current Affairs updates and download the Monthly Current Affairs PDF for UPSC, SSC, Banking and all Govt & State level Competitive exams here.

Related Stories

Comment (0)

Post Comment

1 + 6 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

    Monthly Current Affairs PDF

    • Current Affairs PDF April 2022
    • Current Affairs PDF March 2022
    • Current Affairs PDF February 2022
    • Current Affairs PDF January 2022
    • Current Affairs PDF December 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF November 2021
    View all

    Monthly Current Affairs Quiz PDF

    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF April 2022
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF March 2022
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF February 2022
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF January 2022
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF December 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF November 2021
    View all