1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Sanjay Subrahmanyam selected for Sangitha Kalanidhi award for the year 2015

Jun 22, 2015 15:00 IST

Sanjay SubrahmanyamRenowned carnatic vocalist Sanjay Subrahmanyam was on 21 June 2015 selected for the Sangitha Kalanidhi award of the Madras Music Academy.

The decision to award Subrahmanyam was taken at a meet of the Executive Committee. Vocalist Subrahmanyam, one of the foremost south Indian classical vocalists, will receive the award on 1 January 2016.

Subrahmanyan, 47, will also preside over the 89th Annual Conference of the Academy slated between 15 December 2015 and 1 January 2015.

With this award, Subrahmanyan joined the league of stalwarts like Ariyakudi Ramanuja Iyengar, Semmangudi Srinivasa Iyer, ML Vasanthakumari and M Balamuralikrishna, Musiri Subramania Iyer, Maharajapuram Viswanatha Iyer and others who received the award before turning 50.

Besides, during the meet the committee also decided to confer other awards like Sangita Kala Acharya and TTK Awards.


Selected personalities

Sangita Kala Acharya Award

  • GN Nagamani Srinath (vocalist)
  • TH Subash Chandran (percussionist)

TTK award

  • Seshampatti Sivalingam (Nagaswaram artiste)
  • Kamala Aswathama (Veena artiste)

Pappa Venkataramaiah award

  • MS Mani

Natya Kala Acharya award

  • Alarmel Valli (a popular dancer)

Musicologist award

  • Gowri Kuppusamy

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes5 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Sanjay Subrahmanyam , Classical music singer , Sangita Kalanidhi

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK