Six Winners of Infosys Prize 2016 Announced

Nov 22, 2016 11:15 IST

The Infosys Science Foundation declared the names of six individuals as the winners of Infosys Prize 2016 on 18 November 2016. The prize, which is given to recognize and celebrate the talent and contribution of some of the best researchers and scientists today, is running into its eighth consecutive year.

Infosys Prize 2016 The winners were selected from 6 categories including the field of Engineering and Computer Science, Humanities, Life Sciences, Mathematical Sciences, Physical Sciences and Social Sciences. The prize for each category included a winning amount of 65 Lakh Rupees, a 22 karat gold medallion and a citation certificate.

Six people were chosen from a total of 250 nominations by an esteemed jury panel including renowned scientists and professors such as Prof. Pradeep K Khosla, Prof. Amartya Sen, Prof Shrinivas Kulkarni, Dr. Inder Verma, Prof Srinivasa S R Varadhan and Prof Kaushik Basu.  

The winners of the prize are:

Prof. V. Kumaran for Engineering and Computer Science:
Kumaran, a Professor at the Department of Chemical Engineering, Indian Institute of Science (IISc) Bangalore, was awarded for his exemplary work in complex fluids and complex flows, especially in transition and turbulence in soft walled tubes and tubes that play an important role in cardio-vascular and pulmonary health.

CA eBook
Prof. Sunit Amrith for Humanities
Amrith, a Professor of History at Harvard University (US), was awarded for his excellent contribution to the history of migration, environment and international public health. It was also to recognize his field-changing research on the interrelated past of contemporary Asia.

Dr. Gagandeep Kang for Life Sciences
She was awarded for her ground-breaking contribution to understanding the natural history of rotavirus and other infectious diseases prevalent both in India and abroad. She is the Executive Director of Translational Health Science and Technology Institute (THSTI) Faridabad.

Prof. Akshay Venkatesh for Mathematical Sciences
A professor in Department of Mathematics at Stanford University (US), Verma has been awarded for his enormous contribution to the modern number theory.

Dr. Anil Bhardwaj for Physical Sciences

Bhardwaj, Director of Space Physics Laboratory at Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre in Thiruvananthapuram, has been recognised for his exceptional work in Planetary Science and Exploration including detection and delineation of the nature and origin of planetary x-rays.

Prof. Kaivan Munshi for Social Sciences
Munshi, Professor at Faculty of Economics at the University of Cambridge (UK) has been recognised for his deep analysis of the multifaceted role of ethnic groups and caste-based communities in the process of economic development.


Is this article important for exams ? Yes11 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK