Sri Lankan Parliament adopted the 19th Amendment to the Constitution

This amendment has reduced the power of Executive President and also put into place a Constitutional Council for making key government appoints.

Created On: Apr 30, 2015 12:00 ISTModified On: Apr 30, 2015 17:16 IST

The Parliament of Sri Lanka on 28 April 2015 adopted the 19th Amendment to the Constitution. With this, the power of the Executive President will be reduced and will put into place a Constitutional Council for making key government appoints.

The amendment was adopted by two-third majority with 212 members in the 225-seat Parliament voting in favour of the amendment and one opposing it.

Features of the 19th Amendment of the Constitution
• The reforms ensure an independent judiciary
• President can’t dissolve the parliament by using his power
• It brought a two-term limit for a president and reduces the term from 6 to 5 years
• It put into place several independent commissions, which will function outside the influence of the Executive and handle key areas of governance like elections, public service, police, judiciary and others

The 19th amendment to the Constitution, were seen as critical after Sirisena’s predecessor President Mahinda Rajapaksa was accused of spearheading creeping authoritarianism during his decade in power. Further, with the passage of this amendment, Sirisena passed the litmus test of keeping his promise of bringing in reforms in presidential powers within 100 days.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Related Categories

Post Comment

0 + 7 =