1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Sushma Singh appointed as the next Chief Information Commissioner (CIC) of India

Dec 6, 2013 16:16 IST

Sushma SinghMs. Sushma Singh, a former IAS officer of Jharkhand cadre, has been appointed as the next Chief Information Commissioner (CIC) of India and will succeed Ms. Deepak Sandhu, whose term is ending on 31 December 2013. She will become the second woman to be appointed as the CIC after Deepak Sandhu.

The decision on appointing Ms Singh as the next CIC was taken unanimously by a panel comprising Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Leader of the Opposition in Lok Sabha Sushma Swaraj and Law Minister Kapil Sibal.

After retiring from Indian Administrative Service (IAS) in 2009, Ms Singh became Information Commissioner on September 23, 2009 in the Central Information Commission.
She has served at various Secretarial positions in the Government of India, namely Secretary in the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, the Ministry of Panchayati Raj and the Ministry for the Development of the North Eastern Region (DONER).

Constitution of Central Information Commission (CIC)
• CIC is constituted by the Central Government through a Gazette Notification.   
• CIC comprises of one Chief Information Commissioner (CIC) and not more than 10 Information Commissioners (IC) who are appointed by the President of India.
• Oath of Office is administered by the President of India in accordance with the form set out in the First Schedule.
• Commission is headquartered in Delhi. Other offices may be established in other parts of the country with the approval of the Central Government.
• Commission is independent in exercise of its powers

Eligibility criteria for CIC/IC
• Candidates for CIC/IC must be persons of eminence in public life with wide knowledge and experience in law, science and technology, social service, management, journalism, mass media or administration and governance.
• CIC/IC shall not be a Member of Parliament or Member of the Legislature of any State or Union Territory. He shall not hold any other office of profit or connected with any political party or carrying on any business or pursuing any profession.

Process of appointment of CIC/IC
• CIC/IC is appointed by an Appointment Committee comprising of Prime Minister (Chair), Leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha and one Union Cabinet Minister to be nominated by the Prime Minister.  

Term of office of CIC and IC
• CIC is appointed for a term of 5 years from date on which he enters upon his office or till he attains the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier.
• CIC is not eligible for reappointment.
• Salary of CIC is same as that of the Chief Election Commissioner. This will not be varied to the disadvantage of the CIC during service.
• IC holds office for a term of five years from the date on which he enters upon his office or till he attains the age of sixty-five years, whichever is earlier and shall not be eligible for reappointment as IC.
• Salary will be the same as that of the Election Commissioner. This will not be varied to the disadvantage of the IC during service.
• IC is eligible for appointment as CIC but will not hold office for more than a total of five years including his/her term as IC.

Former Chief Information Commissioners




Wajahat Habibullah

26 October 2005 to 20 October 2009

Former IAS

Anuragha Narayan Tiwari

21 October 2010 to 17 December 2010

Former IAS

Satyanand Mishra

18 December 2010 to 4 September 2013

Former IAS

Deepak Sandhu

5 September 2013 to Till date

Former Indian Information Service (IIS)

Is this article important for exams ? Yes189 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Sushma Singh , Deepak Sandhu , CIC , Appointment Committee

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK