UNESCO Medals conferred for contributions to development of nanoscience and nanotechnologies

Feb 9, 2016 12:08 IST

Eight scientists on 5 February 2016 received the UNESCO Medals for their contributions to the development of nanoscience and nanotechnologies at Paris.

The winner of the 2014 Nobel Prize in Physics, Professor Isamu Akasaki was among the eight.

Unesco Medals

The list of 2016 UNESCO Medal winners:




Professor Isamu Akasaki


Created the blue light-emitting diodes, which resulted in the discovery of white light sources for illumination.


Professor Lei Jiang


Designed and fabricated the bio-inspired surfaces with specific wettability.

Professor Philippe Pernod


Worked on active nanostructured magnetic and multiferroic films, Micro-Magneto-Electro-Mechanical Systems and their applications, and multistable nanostructures.


Professor Nicholas Kotov

United States of America

Worked on biometric self-organization of Nano colloids, ultra-strong nanocomposites, tissue engineering with nanomaterials, and nanoscale drugs.

Academician Gennady Krasnikov

Russian Federation

For his efforts to broaden the use of nanotechnologies in manufacturing industries

Professor Igor Ashurbeyli

Russian Federation

For his work in the field of the development of new generation microelectronic devices, information systems and technologies.


Doctor Mikhail Dubina

Russian Federation

For his work in research and development of new medical technologies based on the use of nanostructures in the earlier on-line diagnostics as well as the creation of new nano biotechnological devices that could influence the   bioprocesses in the human body.


Doctor Natalya Mikhaylova Russian Federation For her work on the application of nanotechnologies in aesthetic medicine, in the fields of cosmetology, polysaccharide development, cancer therapy, reconstructive and plastic surgery.

About UNESCO Medal

• The Medal was established in 2010 at the initiative of the International Commission responsible for developing the Nanoscience and Nanotechnologies theme for the Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems (EOLSS).

• It is awarded each year by the Director-General of UNESCO to prominent scientists, public figures and organizations that contributed to the development of nanoscience and nanotechnologies in the spirit of UNESCO’s priorities.

• Zhores Alferov, the winner of the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2000 and Chunli Bai, President of the Chinese Academy of Sciences were also received this Medal.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1 Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes5 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK