Union Cabinet Approved the Creation of a New State of Telangana

Oct 4, 2013 10:30 IST

The Union Cabinet on 3 October 2013 approved the creation of a new State of Telangana by bifurcating the existing State of Andhra Pradesh.

Union Cabinet Decisions

1.The city of Hyderabad will function as the common capital for both the States (Telangana and Seemandhra) for a period of ten years.

2.The Union Cabinet has also approved the setting up of a Group of Ministers (GoM) to work out the various legal and administrative measures to ensure the safety and security of the residents of all the regions of the State including the guarantee of the Fundamental Rights.

3.The Union Cabinet further approved that the Group of Ministers will go into the various issues which concern both the States and suggest appropriate measures to address them.

4.The Group of Ministers will also work out the modalities for the provision of special financial disbursements required for the setting up of a new capital for the residuary State of Andhra Pradesh and to meet the special needs of the backward regions and districts of the two States.

The new state will have a geographical area of 10 of the 23 districts of undivided Andhra Pradesh.

The districts that will be a part of the new State are Hyderabad, Adilabad, Karimnagar, Khammam, Mahaboobnagar, Medak, Nalgonda, Nizamabad, Rangareddy and Warangal.


Is this article important for exams ? Yes78 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Telangana , Andhra Pradesh

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK