Union Government decided to re-launch Direct Benefit Transfer scheme

Oct 20, 2014 16:05 IST

Union Government on 19 October 2014 decided to re-launch the modified Direct Benefit Transfer (DBT) scheme in an effective manner.  The implementation of DBT will be made on a mission mode between 10 November 2014 and 1 January 2015 in 54 districts.

At Present, the beneficiaries having bank accounts under Aadhaar and the beneficiaries who have bank accounts under the Jan Dhan Yojana will now get subsidy on LPG directly in their accounts.  

The beneficiaries who are outside from the scheme i.e. who have neither an Aadhar identity nor a bank account through Jan Dhan Yojna will get old cylinder system for some time.

The 54 shortlisted districts fall under Andhra Pradesh, Goa, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Puducherry, Punjab and Telangana.

About Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojana
Pradhan Mantri Jan-Dhan Yojana (PMJDY) is National Mission for Financial Inclusion to ensure access to financial services, namely, Banking or Savings & Deposit Accounts, Remittance, Credit, Insurance, Pension in an affordable manner.

Under the scheme, account holders will be provided zero-balance bank account with RuPay debit card, in addition to accidental insurance cover of 1 lakh rupees. Besides, after six months of opening of the bank account holders can avail 5000 rupees loan from the bank.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes61 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Union Government , Direct Benefit Transfer , Aadhaar , Jan Dhan Yojana

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK