US exempted India and Eight Other Countries for Importing Oil from Iran

Jun 6, 2013 18:17 IST

The United States of America on 5 June 2013 exempted India and eight other countries from sanctions for importing oil from Iran.  India, China, Malaysia, South Korea, Singapore, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Turkey, and Taiwan have qualified for an exception to sanctions under America's Iran Sanctions Act.

These countries have significantly reduced their dependence on Iranian oil in the last six months. The US is putting pressure on the Iranian regime until it fully addresses concerns about its nuclear programme.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes88 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: oil from Iran , India and eight other countries , USA

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK