15th Lok Sabha dissolved by the President of India

May 19, 2014 15:45 IST

Pranab MukherjeePresident of India, Pranab Mukherjee on 18 May 2014 dissolved the 15th Lok Sabha. He dissolved the Lok Sabha on the advice of the outgoing Union Cabinet led by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh who resigned on 17 May 2014.

Union Cabinet recommended the President to dissolve the 15th Lok Sabha as a follow-up to the election results of 16th Lok Sabha election. The dissolution of the Lower House of the Parliament will pave the way for constitution of the 16th Lok Sabha.

To enable the President to form a new government, the Election Commission (EC) headed by Chief Election Commissioner V S Sampath submitted the list of newly 543 elected members of the 16th Lok Sabha to the President. The list was submitted in accordance with the Section 73 of the Representation of the People’s Act, 1951.

Dissolution of the Lok Sabha
President of India has the power to dissolve the Lok Sabha in accordance with the Article 85 (2)(b) of the Constitution of India. In this matter, the President acts on the advice of the outgoing Union Cabinet.

Article 85 of the Constitution relates to the Sessions of Parliament, prorogation and dissolution. It states that:
(1) The President shall from time to time summon each House of Parliament to meet at such time and place as he thinks fit, but six months shall not intervene between its last sitting in one session and the date appointed for its first sitting in the next session.
(2) The President may from time to time-
(a) Prorogue the House or either House
(b) Dissolve the House of the People

Is this article important for exams ? Yes32 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK