51 countries signed pact in tax evasion crackdown

Oct 30, 2014 10:15 IST

Finance ministers and tax chiefs from fifty-one countries signed an agreement on 29 October 2014 to automatically swap tax information beginning in 2017. The agreement that was reached in Berlin will help the participant countries to share financial data and boost efforts to crackdown on tax evasion.

The participant countries will begin automatically exchanging data collected by financial institutions as early as 2017. This agreement was developed by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) in consultation with the world’s top 20 countries.

The countries that signed the agreement include most European Union Nations as well as traditional tax havens like Liechtenstein, the British Virgin Islands and the Cayman Islands.

Apart from this, United States hasn’t signed the deal but said that it will share information as part of bilateral deals, while India has deferred from signing the agreement.

OECD Secretary General - Angel Gurria


Is this article important for exams ? Yes27 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK