1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. State Current Affairs |  

5th Sahyadri Cine Awards 2014 presented in Mumbai

Jul 26, 2014 16:40 IST

5th Sahyadri Cine Awards 2014 were presented in Mumbai on 25 July 2014. The award ceremony was sponsored by Godrej Expert.

CEO, Prasar Bharati, Jawahar Sircar was the Chief Guest at the 5th edition of the Cine Awards ceremony, organized by DD Sahyadri TV channel of Doordarshan Kendra, Mumbai.

Sunil Sukhtankar’s Marathi Film ‘Astu’, Nagraj Manjule’s- ‘Fandry’ and Mahesh Limaye’s ‘Yellow’ won top honours at the Sahyadri Cine Awards.

Important Awards and Honours
• Sumitra and Sunil Sukhtankar’s ‘Astu’,   that has won critical acclaim, was adjudged the Best Film. The film starring veteran actor Mohan Agashe with Iravati Harshe, Milind Soman and an Elephant in a leading role, is a depiction of the Indian value system.
• On the other hand, Nagraj Manjule’s directorial debut ‘Fandry’ focuses on romance amidst caste  based discrimination. Manjule won the Best Director Award. Earlier, he had also won the Indira  Gandhi Award for Best First Film of a Director at the 61st National Film Awards instituted by the Government of India.
• 2014 Marathi Film ‘Yellow’,  directed by Mahesh Limaye and produced by Riteish Deshmukh got the special Jury Award. The film explores a mother-daughter relationship and developmental disability of a child suffering from Down’s Syndrome.
• Ashok Lokhande won the Best Actor Male award for “Yashwantrao Chavan- Ek Bakhar’, while Smita Tambe won the Best Actor Female  award for “72 Mile -Ek Pravas.”
• Oscar Awardee Resul Pookutty won the Best Sound Award for the film ‘Rainy Day’.

List of Awardees

Sr. No


Name of Awardees

Name of film


Best Film




Best Director

Nagraj Manjule



Jury Special Award film




Best Actor Male

Ashok Lokhande

‘Yashwantrao Chavan : Ek Bakhar’


Best Actor Female

Smita Tambe

‘72 Mile : Ek Pravas’


Special contribution to Marathi Cinema

Mahesh Kothare



Special Mention – Social Biopic

Samruddhi Pore

Dr. Prakash Baba Amte


Best Child Artiste

Mihiresh Joshi/Yash Kulkarni

‘Avatarachi Goshtha’


Best Supporting  Actor- Male

Rushikesh Joshi



Best supporting actor-Female

Tejashri Pradhan

‘Lagna Pahave Karun’


Best Sound

Resul Pookutty

‘Rainy Day’


Best Screen Play

Nitish Bharadwaj/

Pravin Tarde



Best Story

Nitin Dixit

‘Avatarachi Goshta’


Best Dialogue

Sanjeev Kolte



Best Lyrics

Sanjay Krushnaji Patil

‘72 Mile : Ek Pravas’


Best Music

Atul Lohar



Best Playback Male

Aadarsha Shinde



Best Playback Female

Vaishali Made



Best Backround Music

Shashank Powar

Gulam Begam Badshaha


Best Art Director

Satish Bidkar/

Prashant Bidkar

‘Sat Na Gat’


Best Cameraman

Ishwar Bidri

‘Thoda Tujha Thoda Majha’


Best Editing

Dipak Birkud/

Vilas Ranade



Best Choreographer

Lila Gandhi

‘Yashwantrao Chavan: Ek Bakhar’

If you have any Question/Point on the above information, please ask/discuss it in the Current Affairs Group

Is this article important for exams ? Yes36 People Agreed

DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK