1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. State Current Affairs  |  

9th Sikkim State Legislative Assembly constituted

May 29, 2014 19:03 IST

9th State Legislative Assembly of Sikkim was constituted on 28 May 2014. Protem Speaker Sonam Gyatso Lepcha administered oath to 31 newly elected members during the first sitting of the House.

Leader of the House and Chief Minister of Sikkim, Pawan Chamling was the first person to take the oath. Apart from this, the new MLAs unanimously elected Kedar Nath Rai as the Speaker and Sonam Gyatso Lepcha as the Deputy Speaker of the Sikkim Legislative Assembly.

Chamling is the leader of Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) that has also extended their unconditional support to the NDA government that was formed on 26 May 2014.

If you have any Question/Point on the above information, please ask/discuss it in the Current Affairs Group.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes77 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK