Amulya Kumar Patnaik appointed Delhi Police Commissioner

Jan 30, 2017 15:15 IST

Amulya Kumar Patnait The Union Home Ministry on 30 January 2017 announced the appointment of Amulya Kumar Patnaik as the Delhi Police Commissioner.

Patnaik succeeds Alok Kumar Verma, who has been made the Director of Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI).

Patnaik, a 1985 batch Arunachal Pradesh-Goa-Mizoram and Union Territory (AGMUT) cadre IPS officer, is currently posted as Special Commissioner of Police (Administration).

Top 300 CA eBook

About Commissioner of Police, Delhi

The Commissioner of Police, Delhi is the head of the Delhi Police.

The Government of India constituted the Delhi Police Commission headed by Justice G.D. Khosla in the year 1966. The Commission was constituted to go into the Problems faced by Delhi Police.

On the basis of the Khosla Commission Report, 4 Police districts, namely, North, Central, South and New Delhi were constituted.

The Commission also recommended the introduction of Police Commissioner System, which was adopted from 1 July 1978.

The Commission replaced the earlier Inspector General of Police system, where the Inspector General of police would report to the Divisional Commissioner of Delhi, thus having a dual authority in effect.

After the Commission report, J.N. Chaturvedi was appointed the first Police Commissioner of Delhi.

Y.S. Dadwal was the longest serving Commissioner of Delhi Police who served for 41 months (2007-2010).

Is this article important for exams ? Yes1 Person Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK