Andhra Pradesh assembly election results declared by ECI

Andhra Pradesh assembly elections results were declared and Telugu Desam Party emerged as the largest party with 117 seats in a house of 294 seats.

Created On: May 20, 2014 16:16 ISTModified On: May 20, 2014 16:52 IST

Election Commission of India (ECI) on 16 May 2014 announced the results of Assembly elections of Andhra Pradesh. Telugu Desam Party led by Nara Chandra Babu Naidu emerged as the largest party with 117 seats in a house of 294 seats.

Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party (YSRCP) led by Y. S. Jaganmohan Reddy stood at the second position by winning the elections from 70 seats.

Result of the assembly elections 2014


Seats won by the party

Telugu Desam


Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party


Telangana Rashtra Samithi


Indian National Congress


Bharatiya Janata Party


Others including independents


Andhra Pradesh as a state is at the verge of division and after being divided on 2 June 2014. After division, the two states will be named Telangana and Seemandhra (coastal region of the remainder Andhra Pradesh). At present, the state comprises of three regions namely Telangana, Coastal Andhra and Rayalaseema. Its capital and largest city is Hyderabad

After formation, Telangana will be the 29th state of the Republic of India and will be carved out from 10 north-western districts of the erstwhile state Andhra Pradesh. Hyderabad, the capital of Anhdra Pradesh will be the joint capital of both the Telangana and remainder of Andhra Pradesh for initial 10 years.

2 June 2014 will also mark the constitution of new state assemblies and swearing-in of new governments in both Telangana and residual Andhra Pradesh ending the President's rule. President Rule was imposed after the resignation of chief minister Kiran Kumar Reddy in February 2014.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

4 + 7 =