Aruna Sundararajan appointed as Secretary of Department of Telecommunications

May 12, 2017 09:30 IST

Aruna Sundararajan was on 10 May 2017 appointed as Secretary of Department of Telecommunications. However, she will continue to serve as the Secretary for Union Ministry of Electronics and IT (Meity).

Aruna succeeds PK Pujari, who was appointed to the post temporarily in March 2017. Sundararajan’s Secretary position will also be temporary.

Sundararajan is an IAS officer who played an important role in creating an IT department for the Kerala government in 1998. She has rich experience in overseeing operations of Kerala Government’s Bharat Broadband Scheme which provides subsidized broadband connections.

Her previous important posts include IT secretary for Kerala Government and CEO of National Common Service Centre.

CA eBook

The post of full time Secretary of DoT has been lying vacant since the removal of J S Deepak from the post in March 2017.

Deepak’s removal from DoT came after he wrote a letter to the telecom regulator TRAI asking it to restrict the period of promotional packs offered by telecom companies. He also added that Reliance Jio’s free offers have cost the government money and that has affected the telecom industry.

Deepak also suggested creation of a new telecom policy by replacing the existing policies that were last updated in 2012.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes3 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Aruna Sundararajan , Department of Telecommunications , DoT

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK