Australia defeated New Zealand to win ICC Cricket World Cup 2015

James Faulkner was declared as the man of the match, while, Mitchell Starc was declared as man of the series. Grant Elliott became only the fifth man to register a half-century in the semi-final and final of the same World Cup.

Mar 30, 2015 12:12 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

Australia on 29 March 2015 won the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015. In the final, Australia defeated New Zealand by seven wickets at Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Australia.

New Zealand batting first was bowled out at a score of 183 in 45 over and in reply to the target Australia scored 186 at the loss of 3 wickets in 33.1 over.

With this, Australia won the prize money of 3975000 US dollars while New Zealand as Runners-up won 1750000 US dollars as prize money.

This was the Fifth Cricket World Cup for Australian cricket team. Its previous wins came in the years 1987, 1999, 2003, and 2007. With this win, Australia also became the second host country to win the title. India in 2011 had become the first host country to win the title.  

Man of the Match: James Faulkner
Man of the Series: Mitchell Starc

Captains of the two teams
New Zealand: Brendon McCullum
Australia: Michael Clarke

Some Important facts of 2015 Cricket World Cup
• Martin Guptill of New Zealand was the highest scorer of the 2015 Cricket World Cup. He scored 547 runs in 9 matches at an average of 69.37. His 547 runs included the highest-ever score of 237 not out in any Cricket World Cup which he scored against West Indies in the third quarter-final.
• Mitchell Starc of Australia was the highest wicket-taker of the tournament. He took 22 wickets in 8 matches at an average of 10.18.
• This World Cup also saw scoring of two double hundreds, firstly by Chris Gayle of West Indies who scored 215 runs against Zimbabwe in the league matches and secondly by Martin Guptill.
• This World Cup also saw the retirement of seven cricketers from the One Day Internationals. These are: Michael Clarke (Australia), Shahid Afridi and Misbah-ul-Haq (Pakistan), Mahela Jayawadene and Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka), Khurram Khan (UAE) and Brendon Taylor (Zimbabwe).
• This World Cup also saw the scoring of highest ever centuries in any World Cup. In all 37 centuries were scored in the 2015 Cricket World Cup with Kumar Sangakkara scoring the maximum number of 5 centuries.

Cricket World Cup winner

World Cup wins





1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015


West Indies

1975, 1979



1983, 2011





Sri Lanka


About 2015 Cricket World Cup
The 2015 World Cup of Cricket was held between 14 February and 29 March 2015 at fourteen venues in Australia and New Zealand. 14 teams participated in the league matches of the tournament.

These teams were: Sri Lanka, South Africa, Bangladesh, India, Australia, Pakistan, New Zealand, West Indies, England, United Arab Emirates (UAE), Afghanistan, Scotland, Ireland and Zimbabwe.


• QF 1:  South Africa beat Sri Lanka
• QF 2: India beat Bangladesh
• QF 3: New Zealand beat West Indies
• QF 4: Australia beat Pakistan

• SF 1: New Zealand beat South Africa
• SF 2: Australia beat India

This was the second time when the Cricket World Cup was held in Australia and New Zealand, with the first being the 1992 Cricket World Cup.

Sachin Tendulkar was named as the 2015 Cricket World Cup Ambassador by the ICC for the second time, after 2011 Cricket World Cup where he was the ambassador.


Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए