Bangladesh: Ruling Awami League secured absolute majority in Parliamentary Elections

Ruling party of Bangladesh, Awami League secured an absolute majority in the Parliamentary elections.

Jan 6, 2014 10:20 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

Awami League, the ruling party of Bangladesh on 5 January 2014 secured an absolute majority in the Parliamentary elections. The elections, which was hold on 5 January was marked by violence, low voter turnout and boycott by the opposition party BNP.

The 18-party BNP-led Opposition alliance boycotted the election as its demand for a neutral non-partisan polls-time government went unheeded.

Awami League secured majority in the 10th Parliamentary election of the country by winning 105 seats out of the 147 seats. The Election Commission of Bangladesh received the final results of 139 seats out of 147 seats. The votes were held in 159 districts and as 153 others had returned uncontested winners. 125 of the uncontested candidates belongs to Awami League, 20 from Jatiya Party (Ersad), 3 went to JaSad, 2 to Workers Party and 1 to Jatiya Party (Manju).

13 seats were won by the Jatiya Party and four seats by Workers Party. Twarikat Federation and BNF won one seat each. 13 independent candidates have been elected. In all, 232 candidates of Awami League have been elected uncontested, 33 of Jatiya Party, 6 of Workers Party and 5 of JaSad.

The constituencies, where the election was suspended due to violence, re-election will be held.


If you have any Question/Point on the above information, please ask/discuss it in the Current Affairs Group

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए