1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

China won Uber Cup 2014 of badminton

May 27, 2014 13:20 IST

China won Uber Cup 2014 of badminton on 24 May 2014.  China team defeated the Japan team 3-1 in the final held at Siri Fort Complex in New Delhi.  

With this, China won the Uber Cup for the 13th time and it was China’s eighth title from the last nine editions. China has reached 16 successive finals.

• China’s Li Xuerui defeated Minatsu Mitani of Japan in a straight set.
• In first doubles, Japan’s Misaki Matsutomo and Ayaka Takahashi won against China’s Bao Yixin and Tang Jinhua in a straight set.
• China’s Wang Shixian won against Sayaka Takahashi of Japan in another straight set.
• China won the title in the second doubles, Wang Xiaoli and Zhao Yunlei won against Miyuki Maeda and Reika Kakiiwa of Japan in the final.

About Uber Cup
The Uber Cup is the World Team Championships for Women and it was first held in 1956-7. It is held once in every three years. Since 1984, the Cup is held bi-ennially.

It was named after a former British women's badminton player, Betty Uber. She gave the idea of hosting a women's event similar to that of the men (Thomas Cup).

China has won the cup for maximum number of times. It has won the cup 13 times followed by Japan which has won it for five times. Indonesia and United States have won the cup for three times each.

Quick Digest

Who: China

Where: New Delhi

What: Uber Cup 2014

When: 24 May 2014

Is this article important for exams ? Yes92 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: China , Uber Cup title , Japan

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK