EC banned publication and dissemination of exit polls from 7th April to 12 May 2014

Apr 5, 2014 12:12 IST

Election Commission (EC) of India on 4 March 2014 issued a notification banning publication and dissemination of exit polls of any kind from 7 April to 12 May 2014. This ban will be in existence from the first phase of Lok Sabha elections to ninth (last) phase.

As per the notification, the ban on exit polls will come into effect from 7 am on 7 April 2014, when polling in the first phase starts and will be in existence till 6:30 pm on 12 May 2014, the day when the last phase of polling ends.

EC in its notification said that the ban or restriction on exit polls will also be applicable for elections to Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh Assemblies. The state assembly elections of these States are scheduled to be held along with the Lok Sabha polls.

The Commission has also banned the publication of results of any opinion polls 48 hours before polling in respective areas.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes19 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Election Commission of India , ECI , exit polls , Lok Sabha elections

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK