1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule |  

Eminent Malayalam Novelist George Varghese Kakkanadan died in Kollam

Oct 21, 2011 11:08 IST

Eminent Malayalam novelist George Varghese Kakkanadan who was one of the pioneers of modern Malyalam literature breathed his last on 19 October 2011 in Kollam. Known simply as Kakkanadan, he was one of the harbingers of modernism in the genres of Malayalam novel and short story.

Born on 23 April 1935 at Thiruvalla, Kakkanadan started his professional career as a school teacher but he quit that job later to join the Southern Railway.

His Style of Writing

Kakkanadan was a rebel, both in life and literature and his rebellion extended from his selection of themes and use of subversive language to his careful crafting of the philosophy of angst into the writing. His violent style of writing shook the very roots of the progressive literary sensibilities of the 1960s and 1970s and its innocent certainties. Each of his works was an act of rebellion against accepted elitist social mores and codes. Sex, like violence, was a leitmotif in many of his works.

George Varghese Kakkanadan’s works

He published his first work, Kachavadam, in 1963.

Kakkanadan's major novels include Sakshi (1967), Ezham Mudra (1968), Vasoori (1968), Ushnamekhala (1969), Kozhi (1971), Parankimala (1971), Ajnathayude Thaazhvara (1972), Innaleyude Nizhal (1974), Adiyaravu (1975), Orotha (1982), Ee Naaykkalute Lokam (1983) and Barsaathi (1986).

His most noted short story collections are Yuddhaavasaanam (1969), Purathekkulla Vazhi (1970), Aswathamaavinte Chiri (1979), Sreechakram (1981), Alwar Thirunagarile Pannikal (1989), Uchayillaatha Oru Divasam (1989) and Jaappaana Pukayila (2005).

Two of his works, Parankimala and Aniyara, had been made into films by (late) director Bharathan.

Awards won by Kakkanadan

The first notable award he received was Malayala Nadu Cherukatha Award in 1971. He was a recipient of several prestigious awards including Kerala Sahitya Akademi Award (2002), Kendra Sahitya Academy Award (2005), Balamaniamma Award (2008) and Muttathu Varkey Award.

He won the Central Sahitya Akademi Award, the Kerala Sahitya Akademi Award and other awards. His work,Orodha won him the 1984 Kerala Sahithya Akademi award.

Ushnamekhala, Vasoori, Ajnathayude Thazhvara, Japana Pukayila, which won him Kendra Sahitya Akademi Award and Saakshi are some of his famous works.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes

DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK