England Won Ashes 2013 Test Series by 3-0

 England cricket team won Ashes Test Series-2013 by 3-0 against Australia on 25 August 2013 at England.

Created On: Aug 27, 2013 17:04 ISTModified On: Aug 28, 2013 12:06 IST

England cricket team won Ashes Test Series-2013 by 3-0 against Australia on 25 August 2013 at England.

England and Australia drew the fifth Test as the Ashes series ended in a dramatic draw on the final day at The Oval on 25 August 2013.  With this fifth test match draw England finished the five-match contest as 3-0 winners having triumphed in three successive Test series against Australia for the first time since the 1950s. (England won ashes series in 2009,2011, 2013).

England retained the Ashes after the third Test match was drawn to give them an unassailable 2–0 lead in the series. England took an unbeatable 3–0 lead in the series with a 74-run win in the fourth Test at Chester-le-Street.

Alastair Cook captained the England Side in the tournament, whereas, Michael Clarke captained the Australian team.

Five test match series

1st Test: 10-14 July England won by 14 runs, at Trent Bridge
• Player of the match: James Anderson (Eng)
2nd Test: 18-22 July England won by 347 runs, at Lord's
• Player of the match: Joe Root (Eng)
3rd Test: 1-5 August Match drawn, at Old Trafford
• Player of the match: Michael Clarke (Aus)
4th Test: 9-13 August England won by 74 runs, at Chester-le-Street
• Player of the match: Stuart Broad (Eng)
5th Test: 21-25 August Match drawn, at Oval
• Player of the match: Shane Watson (Aus)

Players of the series
Ian Bell (England) and RJ Harris (Australia)

Leading run-scorers

562 Ian Bell (Eng) - average 62.44
418 Shane Watson (Aus) - average 41.80
388 Kevin Pietersen (Eng) - average 38.80

Leading wicket-takers

26 Graeme Swann (Eng) - average 29.03
24 Ryan Harris (Aus) - average 19.58
22 Stuart Broad (Eng) - average 27.45

History of Ashes Series

The Ashes is a Test cricket series which has been played between England and Australia since 1882. The Ashes is played biennially between England and Australia taking turns to host it. The Ashes series consists of five Test matches; if a series is drawn, the country holding the Ashes retains series.

The Ashes series is named after a satirical obituary published in a British newspaper, The Sporting Times, in 1882 after a match at the Oval in which Australia beat England on an English ground for the first time. The obituary stated that English cricket had died, and the body will be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia. The English media dubbed the next English tour to Australia (1882–83) as the quest to regain the Ashes.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

7 + 0 =