FAO designates 14 new sites as Globally Important Agricultural Heritage Systems

Apr 17, 2018 15:11 IST
FAO designates 14 new sites as Globally Important Agricultural Heritage Systems

The United Nations' Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO) has designated 14 sites as Globally Important Agricultural Heritage Systems (GIAHS). These sites will be officially unveiled by the FAO on April 19, 2018.

These new heritage sites belong to Asia, the Middle East and Central America regions and are located in China, Egypt, Japan, South Korea, Mexico, Portugal, Spain and Sri Lanka.

These 14 new sites range from oasis to rice terraces, wasabi cultivation to raisin production. These sites have shaped landscapes, works of art and protected sustainable ways of living and producing food.

With this, there are now a total of 50 Globally Important Agricultural Heritage Systems, located in 20 countries.


14 new Agricultural Heritage Sites

• Siwa Oasis, Egypt (2016)

• Chinampa Agriculture in the World Natural and Cultural Heritage Zone in Xochimilco, Tlahuac and Milpa Alta, Mexico (2017)

• Zhagana Agriculture - Forest-Animal Husbandry Composite System, China (2017)

• Huzhou Mulberry-dyke & Fish Pond System, China (2017)

• Osaki Kodo's Traditional Water Management System for Sustainable Paddy Agriculture, Japan (2017)

• Nishi-Awa Steep Slope Land Agriculture System, Japan (2017)

• Traditional Hadong Tea Agrosystem in Hwagae-myeon, Republic of Korea (2017)

• The Agricultural System of Valle Salado de Añana, Spain (2017)

• Malaga Raisin Production System in La Axarquía, Spain (2017)

• The Cascaded Tank-Village System, Sri Lanka (2017)

• Rice Terraces in Southern Mountainous and Hilly Areas, China (2018)

• Xiajin Yellow River Old Course Ancient Mulberry Grove System, China (2018)

• Traditional Wasabi Cultivation in Shizuoka, Japan (2018)

• Barroso Agro-sylvo-pastoral System, Portugal (2018)


 Agricultural Heritage Sites

Globally Important Agricultural Heritage Systems (GIAHS)

• The concept of Globally Important Agricultural Heritage Systems (GIAHS) is an evolving system that illustrates the relationship of human communities with their territory, cultural or agricultural landscape and social environment.

• GIAHS Programme seeks to identify and safeguard the Agricultural Heritage Systems and their associated landscapes, agricultural biodiversity and knowledge systems to enhance global, national and local benefits derived through their conservation.

• The agricultural heritage sites obtain global recognition through the creation of the Agricultural Heritage Systems categories supported by governments, FAO governing bodies, UNESCO, World Heritage Centre and other partners.

Read More Current Affairs

Is this article important for exams ? Yes

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK