Hindi Divas 2019: Why is Hindi Diwas celebrated?

Hindi Divas 2019: Hindi Diwas is observed on September 14 to commemorate the adoption of Hindi as an official language of India.

Created On: Sep 14, 2019 11:35 ISTModified On: Sep 14, 2019 14:20 IST

Hindi Divas 2019: Hindi Diwas commemorates the adoption of Hindi as an official language of India. The day is observed annually on September 14.On this day in 1949, Hindi written in Devanagari script was adopted as the official language of India by the Constituent Assembly of India.

The Hindi Diwas was established due to the efforts of several stalwarts who rallied and lobbied in favour of Hindi across India. The most notable among them was Beohar Rajendra Simha. Beohar Rajendra Simha along with other pro-Hindi speakers including Hazari Prasad Dwivedi, Kaka Kalelkar, Maithili Sharan Gupt and Seth Govind Das even debated in the Parliament on the issue.

Hindi was finally adopted as the official language by India’s Constituent Assembly on September 14, 1949, on the occasion of Beohar Rajendra Simha’s 50th birth anniversary. The decision was later ratified by the Indian Constitution, which came into effect on January 26, 1950.

Hindi Divas 2019

On Hindi Diwas 2019, Home Minister Amit Shah would be presenting Rajbhasha Awards to the chiefs of various Ministries, departments and offices for their outstanding performances in promoting the language.

How many people speak Hindi in India?

Hindi is spoken by around 40 percent of people in India. The language is the single largest spoken language among the 22 scheduled languages in the sixth schedule of the Indian constitution.

Currently, Hindi is well known and well-received at international forums. The pioneer of Hindi in international forums in former PM Atal Bihari Vajpayee and he is now followed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who also chooses to speak in Hindi in most significant global exchanges.

However, there are some regions in India, mostly South India, which reject Hindi as the official language and feel that all languages, including regional ones, should be given the same level of importance as Hindi.

Hindi Diwas: Background

Hindi written in Devanagari script was adopted as the official language under Article 343 of the Indian Constitution.

Overall, there are 22 scheduled languages of India, among which, two are used officially by the Union government- Hindi and English.

Hindi with 341 million native speakers is the fourth most spoken language in the world, after Mandarin, Spanish and English.

Download our Current Affairs & GK app for Competitive exam preparation. Click here for latest Current Affairs: Android|IOS

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

0 + 1 =