ICC Cricket Committee recommends DRS for T20 Internationals

May 26, 2017 15:04 IST

ICC Cricket Committee recommends DRS for T20 InternationalsThe ICC Cricket Committee, chaired by India's head coach Anil Kumble, made a host of recommendations concerning future international cricket.

The recommendations were made by the group that met in London on 23 May and 24 May 2017.

One of the key recommendations is the use of Umpire Decision Review System (DRS) for all T20 Internationals.

Another important recommendation of the Committee is to give power to on-field umpires to send-off players in response to the most serious incidents of player's misconduct, like violence on the field.

On the other hand, the committee also expressed unanimous support for the implementation of a Test cricket competition. It also reiterated its full support for cricket being involved in the Olympic Games.

If the ICC Chief Executives' Committee gives green signal to these recommended changes, the new ICC playing conditions will come into effect from 1 October 2017.

CA eBook

About Umpire Decision Review System

The Umpire Decision Review System is a technology-based system used in the sport of cricket.

The system was first introduced in Test cricket.

It was introduced for the sole purpose of reviewing controversial decisions made by the on-field umpires as to whether or not a batsman had been dismissed.

The system was first tested in an India v Sri Lanka match in 2008.

It was officially launched by the International Cricket Council on 24 November 2009 during the first Test match between New Zealand and Pakistan at the University Oval in Dunedin.

It was first used in One Day Internationals in January 2011, during England's tour of Australia.

The first T20 tournament scheduled to use the technology will be the 2018 ICC Women's World Twenty20.

It was used in Knockout stages of Pakistan Super League 2017. It was the first time DRS used in a T20 league.

Members of the ICC Cricket Committee

Anil Kumble: Chairman
Andrew Strauss: Past Player Representative
Mahela Jayawardene: Past Player Representative
Rahul Dravid: Current Player Representative
Former FICA head Tim May: Current Player Representative
Darren Lehmann: Full Member Coach Representative
Kevin O'Brien: Associate Representative
Clare Connor: Women's Cricket Representative
Adrian Griffiths: Former WI batsman
NZC CEO David White: Full Member Representative
Shaun Pollock: Media Representative
Richard Kettleborough: Umpires Representative
Ranjan Madugalle: Referees' Representative
John Stephenson: MCC Head of Cricket
Statistician David Kendix: He formulates the ICC's rankings

Is this article important for exams ? Yes2 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: ICC Cricket Committee , Anil Kumble , DRS , Decision Review System , Cricket

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK