India’s Visa-on-arrival facility extended for tourists of 180 nations, except eight

The facility of visa-on-arrival of India has been extended for tourists from 180 nations, barring eight nations.

Created On: Feb 6, 2014 12:12 ISTModified On: Feb 6, 2014 12:19 IST

India on 5 February 2014 extended the facility of visa-on-arrival for the tourists of 180 nations after barring tourists of eight nations. The decision has extended the facility to 180 countries from 11 nation tourists available at present including Finland, the Philippines, Singapore and Japan. The decision was made in order to boost tourism activity in the country.

This decision was disclosed by Rajeev Shukla, the Minister for State for Planning in New Delhi on 5 February 2014 after a high-level meeting with representatives from various ministries. In the communication, Rajeev Shukla said that the facility will be implemented from next tourist season that will begin in October 2014.

The electronic Visa offered to the tourists would be valid for a period of 30 days from the date of their visit to India. To receive the electronic version of the Visa, the tourists will have to apply in the designated website along the required fees, which would be granted within three days.

The countries, who have been barred from the facility includes
• Pakistan
• Sudan
• Afghanistan
• Iran
• Iraq
• Nigeria
• Sri Lanka
• Somalia

The decision of the high-level meeting to offer visa on arrival can be treated as ironing on the objections raised by the Union Home Ministry for extension of the facility to nationals of 40 more countries that included US, UK and Germany. Home Ministry nod was a prerequisite for extending the facility.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

8 + 3 =