1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Japan won AFC Women’s Asian Football Cup 2014

May 26, 2014 12:13 IST

Japan won the AFC Women's Asian Football Cup 2014 on 25 May 2014. In the final held in Vietnam, Japan football team defeated defending champion Australia 1-0. This is Japan’s first-ever AFC Women’s Asian Cup since it started competing in the event in 1977.

In the final, the winning and the only goal was scored by Japanese Azusa Iwashimizu.

With this win, Japan became the first country to simultaneously hold both the FIFA Women’s World Cup (2011) and AFC Women’s Asian Football Cup (2014).

Aya Miyama, the captain of Japan, was awarded the tournament’s Most Valuable Player (MVP) award for her efforts.

Team captain of Japan:  Aya Miyama
Team captain of Australia: Melissa Barbieri

Japan, Australia, China, South Korea and Thailand have qualified for the 2015 Women's Football World Cup to be held in Canada.

The last AFC Asian Women Football cup was held in China in 2010 and the title was won by the Australia.

About AFC

The Asian Football Confederation (AFC) is the governing body of Asian football and one of the six Confederations making up FIFA. The AFC is responsible for running football in Asia.

The AFC was formed in 1954 in Manila and is now headquartered in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

It consists of 46 Member Associations and one Associate Member Association (The Northern Mariana Islands).
AFC President: Shaikh Salman bin Ebrahim Al Khalifa of Bahrain

Quick Digest

Who: AFC Women's Asian Football Cup

Where: Vietnam

What: won by Japan

When: 25 May 2014

Is this article important for exams ? Yes62 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Japan , AFC Women's Asian Cup title , Vietnam , Australia

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK