1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Japan won the Thomas Cup 2014 of badminton

May 26, 2014 19:24 IST

Japan won the Thomas Cup 2014 of badminton on 25 May 2014. Japan team defeated the Malaysian team 3-2 in the finals held at Siri Fort Complex in New Delhi. This was Japan’s first maiden Thomas Cup.

Also, with this win, Japan became the fourth nation to win the Thomas Cup after Indonesia, China and Malaysia.
Malaysia won the last of their five Thomas Cup titles in 1992 and was runner-up in 1994, 1998 and 2002. Besides, it won three Bronze medals at Thomas Cup in 2006, 2008 and 2010.

About Thomas Cup
The Thomas Cup or Men’s World Team Championships was first staged in 1948-49 and the Uber Cup or Women’s World Team Championships for the first time in 1956-7.  Since 1984, both the events are held biennially.

The Thomas Cup takes place every three years and it was the Badminton World Federation’s (BWF) first major international tournament.

The idea for the competition and the donation of the trophy was by the first President of the BWF, Sir George Thomas, the legendary player who won 21 All England titles.

Of the twenty-eight Thomas Cup tournaments held since 1948–1949, only four nations have won the title. Indonesia is the most successful team, having won the tournament thirteen times. China, which did not begin to compete until the 1982 series, follows Indonesia with nine titles, while Malaysia has won five titles.

Quick Digest

Who: Japan

Where: New Delhi

What: Won Thomas Cup badminton title 2014

When: 25 May 2014

Is this article important for exams ? Yes129 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Japan , 2014 Thomas Cup badminton title , Malaysia

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK