Justice HL Dattu took charge as Chairperson of National Human Rights Commission

He is the seventh Chairperson of the National Human Rights Commission.

Created On: Mar 1, 2016 15:14 ISTModified On: Mar 1, 2016 18:01 IST

Justice Handyala Lakshminarayanaswamy DattuFormer Chief Justice of India Justice Handyala Lakshminarayanaswamy Dattu on 29 February 2016 took charge as the Chairperson of the National Human Rights Commission of India.  He is the seventh Chairperson of the National Human Rights Commission.

He became the 42nd Chief Justice of India on 28 September 2014 and demitted office 2 December 2015.

Appointment of Chairperson and other Members

National Human Rights Commission (NHRC) was constituted under The Protection of Human Rights Act and it comprises of a Chairperson and four members. Chairperson of the NHRC is necessarily the former Chief Justice of India.

The Chairperson and the Members is appointed by the President of India on the recommendations of a Committee consisting of–

(a) The Prime Minister — Chairperson

(b) Speaker of the House of the People — Member

(c) Minister in-charge of the Union Ministry of Home Affairs — Member

(d) Leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha — Member

(e) Leader of the Opposition in the Rajya Sabha — Member

(f) Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha — Member

• No sitting Judge of the Supreme Court or sitting Chief Justice of a High Court shall be appointed except after consultation with the Chief Justice of India.

• No appointment of a Chairperson or a Member shall be invalid merely by reason of any vacancy of any member in the Committee.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1 Current Affairs App

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

5 + 8 =