Kailash Satyarthi and Malala Yousafzai received Nobel Peace Prize for the year 2014

Child rights campaigner of India Kailash Satyarthi and Education activist of Pakistan Malala Yousafzai received the Nobel Peace Prize awards.

Created On: Dec 11, 2014 19:28 ISTModified On: Dec 12, 2014 11:15 IST

Nobel peace prizeChild rights campaigner of India Kailash Satyarthi and Education activist of Pakistan Malala Yousafzai received the Nobel Peace Prize for the year 2014. Both the recipients received medals and prize money 1.4 million US dollars from the Norwegian Nobel Committee at Oslo, Norway on 10 December 2014.

Both Kailash Satyarthi and Malala Yousafzai were awarded for their struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education.  

Both the co-winners of the Nobel Peace Prize have been described by the Norwegian Nobel Committee as Champions of Peace. Besides, US Senate also passed a resolution recognizing both the co-winners as a symbol of peace.

Kailash Satyarthi is a children's rights activist and has been active in the Indian movement against child labour since the 1990s.  He founded an organisation Bachpan Bachao Andolan has freed over 80000 children from various forms of servitude and helped in successful reintegration, rehabilitation and education of them.

Child education activist of Pakistan Malala Yousafzai at the age of 17 became the youngest ever recipient of the Nobel Prize and also the first person to win the Nobel Prize from Pakistan. She is known for her activism for right to education for women especially in the Swat Valley where the local Taliban had at times banned girls from attending school.

Other Nobel Laureates of 2014
Other Nobel laureates received their Nobel Peace Prizes from the Chairman of the Norwegian Nobel Committee in the presence of King Harald V of Norway at Stockholm, Sweden.

• Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine: John O'Keefe, May-Britt Moser and Edvard I. Moser for their discoveries of cells that constitute a positioning system in the brain.
• Nobel Prize in Literature: French author Patrick Modiano for the art of memory with which he has evoked the most ungraspable human destinies and uncovered the life-world of the occupation.
• Nobel Prize in Physics: Isamu Akasaki, Hiroshi Amano and Shuji Nakamura for the invention of efficient blue light-emitting diodes which has enabled bright and energy-saving white light sources.
• Nobel Prize in Chemistry: Eric Betzig from Janelia Research Campus, Stefan Hell, Gottingen and William E. Moerner for their role in the of super-resolved fluorescence microscopy.
• Nobel Prize in Economics: Jean Tirole for his analysis of market power and regulation.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

8 + 1 =